1867: Elizabeth (Wilson) Buckner to William H. Wilson

This letter was written by Elizabeth (Wilson) Buckner (1841-19xx), the daughter of Joseph Hannibal Bonaparte Wilson (Aft1800-Bef1849) and Ann Adeline Neblett (1804-1858) of Paris, Henry county, Tennessee. She wrote the letter to her brother, William Henry Harrison (“Tip”) Wilson (1840-1921) who farmed near Notasulga, Alabama. Tip was married to Naomi Elizabeth (“Lizzie”) Cox (1842-1921).

TRANSCRIPTION

Home [Paris, Henry county, Tennessee]
Wednesday, January 1st 1867

Esteemed brother,

Then thousand thanks for kind & interesting letters & permit me at the same time to ask you as many pardons for not having written you long, long ago. I have often resolved & resolved to write and ow feel surprised and grieved because I so long delayed. Several times I faithfully promised myself to write immediately but somehow (I say it with sorrow) the time glided away and I was still strangely silent. When I read yours, I really felt like giving you a letter in length almost proportioned to the extent of happiness it gave me. Truly it would have been very long. You can never know how much I enjoyed every line you wrote. I love you so fondly and tenderly as ever and cherish your memory with affectionate veneration. Once more let me ask you to please forgive my long silence. Do not attribute it to willful neglect, careless ingratitude; for believe me, I esteem it a delightful privilege to write to you my much beloved brother. I have so few relations near me. I am of course strongly attached to those few and good news from the distanted loved come to me as a song of sweet music. If I had had wings, I would have joyfully winged my way to you after I finished reading your affectionate letter. In imagination I did visit you and felt as if I almost participated in your social comfort and domestic happiness.

You wished to know whether this is the same Baker that was on the Paris circuit. It is. He says that he recollects you & sends you his kindest regards. Oh Brother, I was so sorry to hear that you & family could not visit us this winter. We have had a beautiful fall & winter up to this time for it is now very cold & snow on the ground four or five inches deep, We had quite a dull Christmas. Btother, it surely would not cost you $1.40 to visit us but you know the best as such.  You do what you think best. Cotton is worth from nine to ten cents in the lint, pork from 8 to 10. Wheat $2.00 to 2.25. Corn 50 cents per bushel, Calico 10 12½ to 15 cents per yard. Heavy yard wide domestic 16 2/3 cents per yard.

I heard from [sister] Sallie the other week. All was well with the exception of Uncle. He was in very feeble health. Cousin A. L. Pritchett is on the Iuka Circuit. I received a letter from Punch some time since requesting me to visit him very speedily as he wanted to see me on particular business. I do not know what it was. I answered his letter telling him I could not comply with his request but have received no answer. I do not know why he did not answer me unless he got offended at me because I did not visit him. I do not know what Mr. Ross is doing. I don’t know anything about Emma & Minerva. I have been thinking about writing to Emma.

How far do you live from here. It only takes about three days for your letters to get here. How far do you live from Notasulga & what city do you live in? Mr. Baker killed his hogs yesterday—that is, he killed ten. They weighed 2900 & 20 pounds, one weighing 400 & 6 lbs. You said in your letter that you felt quite unwell. I am in hopes you quite well now & will answer this immediately. Give my best to Lizzie. Tell her she must write me soon. Kiss Minnie for me. I will send you my gem [gem type] when I have the chance. I will have some photographs taken & send you one of them. I had some but have given them all away. Would be pleased to get yours, Lizzie’s & Minnie’s. I will close by asking you to write immediately to your loving sister, — Lizzie Buckner

New Year’s gift Brother & Sister, — Bettie


 

Leave a comment