1863: Eubulus H. Brigham to Sarah Ann Brigham

These letters were written by Eubulus (“Bule”) H. Brigham (1843-1924), the son of Edward Brigham (1811-1872) and Clarissa Swain (1814-1882) of Tioga county, New York. He wrote the letter to his sister, Sarah Ann Brigham (she later married Elmer L. Andrews). Bule was described in military records as a grey-eyed, dark-haired farmer who stood a little north of 5’10” tall.

I could not find an image of Bule but here is a cdv of Pvt. Squire Whitaker Jayne who served in Co. C, 35th Pennsylvania Infantry (Photo Sleuth)

Bule wrote the letters while serving as a private in Co. F (the “Northern Invincibles”), 6th Pennsylvania Reserve Infantry (35th Penn. Infantry). The company rolls record his name as “Ebuleus” (Grave marker reads “Eubulus”) and inform us that he enlisted on 30 August 1862. The rolls also indicate that Bule was discharged from that regiment on a Surgeon’s Certificate on 22 March 1863 but the 1863 Draft Registration record indicates he served with the 6th Pennsylvania Reserves until May 1863. From Bule’s letters we learn that his toes were frost bitten in February 1863, disabling him from duty. My hunch is that he was hospitalized for a time and that he may have been sent home expecting a medical discharge in May but when he realized he would likely be drafted in the fall of 1863, he opted to return to his regiment which explains the letter of September 1863. Most likely, Bule’s inability to march kept him out of the Battle of Gettysburg where the regiment fought on the 2nd and 3rd days.

Bule later enlisted as a private in Co. D, 1st New York Veteran Volunteer Cavalry—a branch of service better suited to those who could no longer march. The military rolls indicate he did not enlist in the cavalry until September 1864. He mustered out on 8 June 1865.

Bule’s older brother, Charles Edward (“Ed”) Brigham (1841-1909) served as a corporal in Co. F, 6th Pennsylvania Research Infantry. Charles enlisted in mid-July 1861 and was wounded through the neck at Fredericksburg. He mustered out with his company in Mid-June 1864.  The soldier referred to as “Sime” may have been Simon C. Kinney. Simon later served in Co. F, 191st Pennsylvania Infantry.

At the time these letters were written, the 6th Penn. Reserves (35th PA. Inf.) were encamped in the vicinity of Alexandria, Virginia, having been ordered there in early February 1863 after participating on Burnside’s Mud March. They remained in the D. C. area until 25 June 1863.

Company Roll of Co. F, 35th Pennsylvania (6th Pennsylvania Reserves)

Letter 1

[Note: The following letter is posted for sale on the Excelsior Brigade website under the name, Ebeleus H. Brigham.]

February 27, 1863
Camp near Fairfax Court House
About 16 miles from Washington, D. C.

Dear Sister Sarah,

I once more seat myself to write you a few lines. But sister, I shall have to ask in the start to be forgiven for not writing to you before this late hour and hope that you will not think that I have forgotten my dear friends, for it is to the reverse. The reason that we have not written before is the weather has been so cold and wet that we could not leave the campfire long enough to sleep.

Well sister, we are both well with the exception of bad colds and two frozen feet to carry around with me. I will tell you how that happened. I went to bed one cold night and got to sleep. When I awoke my feet were frozen. Somewhat stiff but that hadnā€™t nothing for a soldier. We have just sent out a scouting party about 3 or 4 miles from our camp. The cavalry bothers us some here but we make them quite. We fetched in 7 this morning and a good big Nig. We have pretty good times here and shall have better after the mud dries up. The night has overtaken me and I will finish this tomorrow. So good night.

Saturday morning, February the 28th

Sister, I once more seat myself to finish this dry note. We have just been out and been mustered. So you will see we will soon have some change. Sister, it has been so long since I have written a letter that I canā€™t think of a thing to write. We have not heard from home in a long time and begin to want to hear from home.

I suppose that the conscript law rules the north. But thank God that I have no more brothers or father that comes under that head. For I donā€™t want no more of my relations to undergo the hardships of a soldier life. Nor to help free the Nigs. Sister, you may think that I am tired of soldiering. I am. I am tired of soldiering for the cause you know as well as I and shall guide us down the path that is honorable.

I shall have to close this soon. For my fingers are rather cold. Ed say he will write soon and I shall never let it go so long again. Write soon. Give my love to all the folks. Kiss Aunt Pat and the baby and here is one for you.

From your Brother, — Bule Brigham

Excuse all mistakes. Write soon.

Only the first page was posted on website

Letter 2

srew
Addressed to Miss Sarah A. Brigham, Binghamton, Broome county, New York

Camp 6th Regt. Penn. Reserves
May 4th 1863

Dear Sister Sarah Ann,

A long space of time has passed since I received your most welcome letter. I have no excuse for not writing you before this. Neglect has been the reason for I have had time enough but it tis a great task for me to write letters. But sister, how I love to get letters—to hear from my friends. You may think I don’t think of my friends but if you could hear Sime & Brother Ed, & myself talk of friends & good folks, you would think you were never forgotten.

Our folks are all well. That includes Sime, Ed, & myself.

The weather is rather warm here now days. We had a hard thunder shower last night. This morning is cool and beautiful. Rather be here than with Old Joe Hooker at present. He is having rather hot times, I suppose. Let them fight & he will come out victorious. He has the best army in the field—mostly all old troops, well drilled &c., and if he does with the help of God gain a victory this time, you will see the rebellion shrink fast.

We hold ourselves in readiness to move at one moment’s notice. I hope we will be ordered to fetch up the rear for our old guns shine with vengeance. Brother Ed says he is bullet proof—been hit twice [and is as] good as ever yet. He has had good luck. Been in 5 battles & out of the 5, hit twice. He is bound to make a good soldier. He would not come home if he could. He says his father always told him when he commenced a job, to finish before he left it. Good advice. But the way I do, I lay by all advice in time of war. I shan’t run in the fire for the sake of getting burnt, nor neither will I run for the sake of getting out of battle. If it ’tis my lot to get killed here—so be it. But that is the least fear of a soldier.

We are having such good times here now—days warm [and] weather much more pleasant than winter. Sister, I had a long winter of the past one. Not one well day did I see for 4 months. Thank God a man can find friends everywhere. I had some good times & some hard ones. When a fellow is so sick that he can’t get up & lay & let his feet freeze [is] rather hard. But we won’t talk of the past but of the things in the future. I must close this for the band is out here playing Yankee Doodle Dandy & I can’t sit still. You would laugh to see Sime dance after martial music. Do you remember the time he danced in the Hall?

feydr
How Sarah Ann might have looked

Oh, how is Hellen Lockwood & her husband? Well, of course. Sister, I want you to do me a favor. I know you will for you always did when in your power. I can’t tend to it myself. That is to speak a good word for me to some fine lassie that when I come to see you, maybe we could agree and make a good match. Sister, will you excuse these few lines of foolishness?

You said you liked to get long letters but I can’t think of a thing that will interest you. If I could, I would write all day. Don’t wait for me to write. Write soon & I will write as often as possible. Give my love to grandfather & mother; also the rest of the folks, hoping that the war will soon be out of our midst & peace float through the land.

Brother Ed is going to Washington in a few days with a friend of his to make a visit. That is all the place a soldier can go visiting. No more at present.

I remain your brother, — Bule Brigham


Letter 3

[Note: The following letter is from the private collection of Robert May and was published on Spared & Shared by express consent.]

Addressed to Miss Sarah A. Brigham, Binghamton, Broom County, New York

Sheshequin [Pennsylvania]
[September] 12 1863

Sister, once more I seat myself to write you a few lines until I get in some foreign country. Then [I] will try until write you something more important. You may think rather strange of my going in the army again but I was subject to the draft and the men all leaving me alone & my chance was rather slim. I did not want to go [but] I thought the matter over, [sought] some advice, and made up my mind to go for one year. If for the best, I am glad. If for the worse, ’tis all right. But I shall do the best I can, and then the next best.

Your friend Mr. Fairchild is in the same company. I think he is a very nice fellow. I got acquainted with him at Owego on the 3rd. He said he would see you and tell you all about me. Sarah, I thank you for those verses. They were the best I ever saw. They made me feel quite like a soldier.

Sister, do you think I don’t care about seeing you or do you think I am heartless. I have not forgotten you. I care for your welfare and ever shall. I think of you often but I am no writer. Therefore, I hardly ever write. I should like to see you and the rest of the folks. Give my love to all the folks [but] keep a good share for yourself.

I have no time to spare. We start tomorrow. I will write to you soon and tell you the news. No more at present. I remain as ever your brother and shall [be] until death calls me.

Write me soon. Give my love to Jinney. — Bule

Leave a comment